Stages of High Blood Pressure and Treatment

High Blood Pressure Stages 

A lot of people in my family have high blood pressure. Dre told me I better start hitting the gym… so I took his advice. Warren G
High Plood Pressure Stages fall into one of several categories. Each of these categories can have effect on the treatment options.
Blood pressure is classified into four stages by doctors, which are:
1. Normal

2. Pre-hypertension (mild)

3. Stage 1 (moderate)

4. Stage 2 (severe).

Treatment depends on the category in which your pressure belongs. Especially readings are been taken. The stages are based on the Joint National Committee report. Done by the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute. Which is a part of the National Institutes of Health.

How Is Blood Pressure Measured?

Blood pressure is measured using an instrument called a sphygmomanometer. Through which the doctor listens to the sound produced as a result of the force of blood in the patient’s arteries. Blood pressure is measured in millimeters of mercury (mm Hg).
Systolic blood pressure is the top in blood pressure reading. The lower number is the pressure in the arteries when the heart is at rest – diastolic pressure.
An adult is considered to have high blood pressure if the systolic blood pressure is greater than or equal to 140 mm Hg. Or a diastolic pressure greater than or equal to 90 mm Hg. But, for every 20 mmHg, your systolic blood pressure increases above 115. And for every 10 mmHg diastolic blood pressure increases above 75, your risk of cardiovascular disease is double. Thus lower blood pressure is generally better.
An adult is considered to have high blood pressure if the systolic blood pressure is greater than or equal to 140 mm Hg.

Recommended Treatments

People with high blood pressure, diabetes – those are conditions brought about by life style. If you change the life style, those conditions will leave. Dick Gregory
Ordinary, when systolic blood pressure is less than 120 mmHg and diastolic is less than 80 mm Hg. No treatment is needed. But it is important for you to check your blood pressure to make sure it stays within normal limits. Below is an overview of the current stages and recommended treatments:


Systolic that lies between 120 to 139 mm Hg or diastolic between 80 to 89 mmHg. People in this group are prone to having High Blood Pressure later in life. Life-style measures to prevent heart disease are mainstay in this group. Lifestyle measures include exercise and body weight control within a normal range. Also diet rich in vegetables and fruits are okay, and selecting dairy products that are low in fat.

Stage 1:

Systolic, this is between 140 to 159 mm Hg or diastolic 90 to 99 mmHg. Management options of this stage of hypertension include the same lifestyle measures mentioned above. Plus the use of drugs that reduce not only blood pressure but also reduce the risk of heart disease and stroke.

Drug classes include

1. Thiazide diuretics,
2. ACE inhibitors,
3. Angiotensin receptor blockers,
4. Beta blockers,
5. Calcium channel blockers etc.

You may have to give a trial to different medications until you find the one that has the best results for you.

Stage 2:

Systolic 160 mm Hg or more or diastolic 100 mm Hg or more. This group also need changing lifestyles. A two-drug therapy chosen from among the five classes of hypertensive agents are recommended.


In case your blood pressures fall into different stages, the stage with the highest number is the one counted. For example, if you have a systolic blood pressure of 150 mmHg, but your diastolic pressure is only 85 mmHg, you will be classified as hypertension of stage 1, not prehypertension. Diastolic pressure is more important if you are older than 50 years. It estimates your risk of cardiovascular disease.
Without treatment, high blood pressure can lead to coronary heart disease. Which can be a heart attack or a stroke. Follow your doctor’s instructions to keep it your blood pressure under control.
Hidden Content